#5 Drive more than 45 minutes for sweet tea.

I have a roommate from Abilene who is absolutely obsessed with Chicken Express sweet tea and one of the closest ones is all the way in Lake Travis. What’d we do? Four of us crammed into our friend’s car, filled up the tank, set the ipod to shuffle, rolled the windows down, and headed for the hills of west Austin.

It was about six o’clock, perfect for Austin traffic, not! But it was a blessing in disguise. We just rode out there, watched the sun go down and the sky turn colors, and caught up. Being seniors, we are all unfortunately very busy and will be parting ways soon, so the simple car ride to grease-heaven was extremely necessary. On the way back, we didn’t say anything, just sang our lungs out and while complaining about how bad we needed to pee from all the 32 ounces of sweet tea in our bodies!

So pick one of your or your friends’ favorite places, cram into the car, get the best tunes and get out of town, even if it’s only 30-45 minutes away! And if you get a chance, grab a 32oz sweet tea from Chicken Express for the road.

Make the most of your sweet life,
signature

3 Comments

Filed under budget, Random acts of fun

3 responses to “#5 Drive more than 45 minutes for sweet tea.

  1. Raquel

    Oh my gosh girl I totally agree with you! I’ve been meaning to go to Fredericksburg, for example. I’ve seen some awesome candles that come from there, and simply driving outside the city and exploring what’s out there! I’m definitely following your advice. 🙂

  2. Being an east Texas girl, I like my sweet tea. So, I can definitely relate. It’s tradition–each time my roommate and I leave our hometown to come back to Austin for another semester, we drive through Chicken Express and get our own sweet tea and a gallon for the ATX fridge!

  3. Caroline Page

    I have done this same kind of thing with my friends before – driving way out of the way to get some sort of food or drink! There is a fruit and vegetable stand in the summer near my family’s ranch in Blanco and I have admittedly made an excuse to go to the ranch (which is about an hour drive away) just to get a peach milkshake from the stand… and it was worth it!

Leave a comment