#106 Grow a garden

In an ideal world, I would be eating off a garden I’d be tending. Perhaps this would entail me to live far away from the city, in a ranch or townhouse that has enough land to grow different types of foods. Maybe I would have to live a country-side style of life where I would devote my entire day to nurturing nature. But my feet on the ground tell me that in reality I wouldn’t be able to live this way, I’m very much a city girl so I wish I could find a middle-ground.

cilantro. Photo by Michael Lehet under Creative Commons License.

My favorite seasoning: cilantro. Photo by Michael Lehet under Creative Commons License.

A garden with tomatoes, onions, celery, cilantro, parsley, cucumbers, beets, zucchini, and rice is all I ask for. With strawberries, apples, oranges and bananas, that can’t be too difficult right? Perhaps they might be a little too much, but these or any other fruits and vegetables would suffice, as long as I could in fact live off the fat of the land.

I’m worried about the future wars with water and the possible scarcity of food. I might not live long enough to see it get to extreme stages, but there’s already been water wars in Bolivia, and hunger is still a world-wide problem.

So to supplant my little grain of sand I would love to have a little bit of Earth to grow a few plants that could feed myself and my close ones, ideally while at the same time living in the city and carrying on with my ordinary life as I know it.

gif

5 Comments

Filed under Random acts of fun

5 responses to “#106 Grow a garden

  1. pieper12

    This is a really cool idea! I have seen a lot of homes on the east side of I-35 that grow their own herbs and my aunt makes this salsa from peppers that she grows in her back yard. It’s soo good and she gets a lot out of being able to say, I grew this!

  2. When I was growing up we used to have a huge garden. There’s nothing like going out and “harvesting” dinner by picking some tomatoes, cucumbers, onions and lettuce and then eating it a few minutes later. That’s really the one thing that I miss about living in the city!

    P.S. Thanks for using my photo : -)

  3. Kristin

    Nice idea, Raquel. Good one to put on the list. I have had varying degrees of “garden” at my home in Colorado. We’ve grown strawberries (which grew no bigger than a grape, but were the sweetest fruit I’d ever tasted), veggies that I don’t remember, and herbs. Most recently we’ve kept a basil plant in a pot which we keep going year round. There’s nothing like fresh food plucked strait from the vine. In the summer we make salad nicoise almost every day using our fresh basil, fresh mozzarella from the store, and juicy ripe tomatoes from our farmers market. There’s nothing else like it!

  4. Briana C

    Raquel,
    sounds like you want the best of both worlds! Who doesn’t lol? There’s something about fresh food. You can just tell the difference between an apple in the store and one that you pick yourself. At my house, we;re currently growing basil and parsley. Not only does it save money, but the fresh leaves also don’t have to go bad sitting in the fridge!

  5. This is such a cool idea! At my parents house, we actually have an orchard and a garden on part of our land and fresh fruit and vegetables are so good! Great post!

Leave a comment