#87 Eat S’mores at Halcyon

There’s nothing like a good s’more.  When I first moved to Austin, one of my guy friends took me out to this place downtown. I remember him telling me, “You just have to try these awesome s’mores.”  Naturally, I thought he was half crazy.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge fan of the s’more, but is it really a necessity that I get one in my mouth right now?  If you go to Halcyon, the answer is YES.  Just wait until you are brought the table-side fixings.  You start by roasting the marshmallow over a make-shift fire and then put the roasted, gooey marshmallow on top of all the melted chocolate. Finally, you bite into the graham cracker with all the delicious goodness inside − mmm… perfection and contentment all in the form of, yes that’s right, a s’more.

Halcyon is a little coffee shop in downtown Austin, Texas. (Photo via Flickr by Keegan Jones Creative Commons License)

Halcyon is a little coffee shop in downtown Austin, Texas. (Photo via Flickr by Keegan Jones Creative Commons License)

picture-1(Hal-see-yon): adj –  Peaceful, Carefree, Untroubled.  The name may sound unusual, and its meaning (these days) is even more alien.  There was something about being there and eating s’mores that brought me back to when I was a kid sitting around the campfire in Wyoming’s Big Horn Mountains with my family making the delicious dessert.  It made me think of the countless campfires I’ve sat at since then with family and friends talking late into the night.  It made me feel at home even though I was a scared freshman hundreds of miles from the place and people I knew best.

My brother, sister and I eating s'mores at Halcyon a few weeks ago.

My brother, sister and I eating s'mores at Halcyon when they came to visit!

So, go to 218 West 4th Street, grab a marshmallow, start roasting, get your fingers sticky and eat until your heart’s content.  When you’re finished with your city campfire in the middle of the Texas Capitol, leave a comment and let me know what you thought!

You can buy s'mores for two or four people.

You can buy s'mores for two or four people!

And, go here for Halcyon’s menu.

4 Comments

Filed under Random acts of fun

4 responses to “#87 Eat S’mores at Halcyon

  1. Kristin

    Mmm…sounds yummy. I love a good s’more. What’s your roasting strategy?…burn and blow, or slow and golden? I try for the latter, but usually grow too impatient and end up burning it! Hah! How much for this feast? I can’t even begin to guess the cost of such a non-restaurant type meal. I’ll have to try it. PS-not that I couldn’t figure out what you meant, but you captioned your photo in R-L instead of L-R…intentional?

  2. Brittany

    I LOVE Halcyon! A friend took me their last year for the first time and I fell in love. It is one of the great things about our city…

  3. This place is wonderful. I went for the first time for a friend’s birthday celebration, and their menu is absolutely incredible! It is definitely a little expensive, and it can get crowded, but other than that, the vibe is great and they just have the most creative goodies on their menu. Great recommendation:)

  4. Kristin: I usually burn my marshmallows! Haha That’s the way I like them! Also, you can order the s’mores for two or four people. I honestly can’t remember how much it was, but I don’t think it was too bad. I looked online, but they don’t have their prices listed, only their menu. As for my photo captions, I looked at them and they are just centered!

Leave a comment